Clearwater Criminal Defense Lawyer and Clearwater DUI Attorney serving Pinellas, Hillsborough, Tampa, Saint Petersburg for Criminal Defense

phone icon

Schedule Your
Free Consultation Today

727. 442. 2800

divider

Traffic Matters, Racing, DWLSR

separator

ACCUSED OF LEAVING THE SCENE OF AN ACCIDENT?

Leaving the scene of an accident, also referred to as “hit and run”, is a serious criminal offense in Florida. Under state law, a driver may face imprisonment in county jail or state prison, fines, probation and driver’s license suspension for a violation of this nature. Specific penalties will vary depending upon the amount of damage the accident caused. If property damage was the only effect of the accident, the penalties will be less severe. If someone was injured, the penalties will be more extreme. In some cases mandatory prison time is required by statute. That is why I offer a free consultation to discuss your legal matter and determine how we can help.

Leaving the Scene – Offenses and Penalties in Florida

If a driver is involved in an auto accident he or she must stop and exchange contact information and provide medical assistance. The failure to do so is a criminal offense which may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending upon the particular case.

  • Leaving the scene of an accident causing property damage: second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in county jail and a fine of up to $500.
  • Leaving the scene of an accident causing injury: third degree felony offense, punishable by up to 5 years in state prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
  • Leaving the scene of an accident causing death: first degree felony, punishable by up to 30 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

Your future and freedom are at risk in the face of criminal charges involving leaving the scene of an accident. Fortunately, I can offer you the dedicated legal guidance that you need and the aggressive representation you deserve in order to fight these charges. I represent clients throughout Pinellas, Pasco and Hillsborough County. Please contact my office for a free consultation.

STOPPED FOR DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED OR REVOKED LICENSE?

Driving with a suspended license is a serious criminal offense. A conviction may result in county jail or prison time.
If you or someone you know was pulled over and cited for driving with a suspended or revoked license in Pinellas County, Pasco County, or Hillsborough County, I can help you fight these charges and avoid serious penalties or points from a conviction. More often than not, clients are not even aware that their license has been suspended. Commonly, licenses are suspended due to a failure to pay traffic tickets, child support or points. Once an officer stops your vehicle, many drivers are then informed about their suspensions and that they are now facing criminal charges.

IS DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED LICENSE SERIOUS?

Driving with a suspended or revoked license can be a misdemeanor or felony under Florida Law . Imprisonment for a misdemeanor conviction may last from 6 months to 1 year. However, a third conviction for this offense may actually result in felony charges, where you may face up to 5 years in state prison if convicted.
I have experience in this area of law and understand what defense strategies are needed to help you avoid a conviction and thus serious penalties. Often times the State Attorney’s Office will consider reducing a case if the driver obtains a valid driver’s license. I offer a free consultation to discuss your charges and represent clients throughout Pinellas, Pasco, and Hillsborough Counties.